Autism & Morning Ritual ( Routine)



What are your morning rituals? What does the first hour of your day look like?

Hi subscribers / moochers / followers / readers / passers-by

It’s been a while since my last entry (hope you not missed me too much ?)

To answer said prompt / question 👇

As an AuDHDer ( autistic / adhd), lets talk about the autistic side of me & being routine rigid.

Autistic folk are very rigid to routine & doing the same thing ( i don’t speak for all )

For me doing the same thing at the same time, eating the same thing, doing it like a ritual on the daily, is part of my functioning of being autistic. Without routine & doing same. I would be lost & unfunction & out of sync.

My first hour of the morning is 7:00 wake up alarm, sometimes the cats wake me up at 6:30, to give me a headstart. Or i lay in bed till 7:00 alarm goes off. Petting the furbabies.

From 7:00 depending on day ( i workout 3x week) Mon/ Wed / Friday ( 1 hr 30 mins).

Tuesday & Thursday no workout. Up at 7:00. I tend to make a creatine black coffee. Feed the cats , take my coffee to bed. Drink it, now its like 7:15.

Get ready, do my face & eye routine of washing my face , applying a few creams , do my hair & wet it with a spray bottle , towel dry & sea salt ( blow dry) add wax or powered wax.

Get ready & changed, if no workout, i tend, to leave my flat by 7:30, and have another coffee at my Italian cafe. That & walking to there. Gets me in at 7:50.

Stay till 8 or a bit after. And thats the first hour of my morning. But yes i do have same routine, but working out. Its a slight difference but not much.

Most days i will make short content early morning & scheduled for evening time. Added with editing & the set up.

But if I am planning going out of where I live be it another town or a coach trip i tend to plan weeks before , sometimes months.

Everything has a time, like my eating & to planning. But its all routine & my functioning.. Downside is having adhd, i can be very spontaneous & off goes my routine. But its something i have come to terms with.

And just let adhd do adhd. I know you didn’t ask for this long explanation. But I like to educate & share. Both experiences of AuDHDer’s.

Anyway i hope you enjoyed me answering this for you all.

Sorry its been a while since my last blog.

P.s you can always find me on youtube – Different_Not_Broken

I appreciate the subscribe , happy to give  a wee shout out in the next video or short. If ye let me know who you are.

If you have a small business or a creator in any kind, come to the community tab of mine & comment. Or email me.

Links in bio on YouTube , go to my about page & see links – Gravatar contact info

Let me know who you are & what you do ( anything) and put in subject of email – Shoutout ( business or organisation etc ).

Anyway sharing is caring 🫶💚

Kerri


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started